Labour Community Service Award


The Labour Community Service Award was established in 1999 by the Saskatoon and District Labour Council (SDLC) in partnership with United Way of Saskatoon and Area. The partners recognized the importance of celebrating labour's contributions to the health and well-being of our community. It is another example of how the Labour/United Way Partnership is working to benefit Saskatoon and Area. Through this award, we celebrate an individual's outstanding service and dedication to our community through volunteer work. Collective strength is made up of many individual actions working towards a common cause. It is our hope that in honouring our leaders, we help to inspire others and nurture leadership to those that will follow---the future leaders in our community and our labour movement.

The individuals who have been honoured over the years have all been involved in both their union and their community however, it is their ability to inspire and motivate others to become involved that shows their true leadership. When it comes to important issues and causes, our recipients have the ability to help others understand the importance of their volunteerism and activism in making change building a better community for all.

The dinner is held in conjunction with the SDLC Annual General Meeting. This year the dinner is on February 9th at 7pm at the Masonic Temple, 1021 Saskatchewan Crescent West in Saskatoon.

If you would like a copy of the nomination forms or to order tickets, please connect with the SDLC Registrar at [email protected]


Year Name Union
1999 Sam Sambasivam UFCW Local 248P
2000 Duane C. Siemens CEP Local 609
2001 Carol Cisecki UFCW Local 1400
2002 Dan Wirl USWA Local 7458
2003 Marianne Hladun PSAC/Agriculture Local 40022
2004 Om Kochar RWDSU Local 558
2005 Tracy Goodheart RWDSU Local 558
2006 Gail Lasiuk CUPE Local 1975
2007 Jim Bitinsky UFCW Local 248P
2008 Linda Flowers SEIU Local 333
2009 Robin East PIPSC
2010 Gord Hiebert USW Local 7458
2011 Gord Telfer USW Local 8914
2012 Carol Duclaux SEIU – West
2013 Russell Vaagen USW Local 7552
2014 Howard Willems PSAC/Agriculture Local 40022
2015 Carla Smith CUPE Local 974
2016 David McGrane STM Faculty Union
2017 Dianne Addley   CUPW Local 824
2018 Marilyn Barlow Saskatoon SUN District Council
2019 Darcy Pederson ATU Local 615
2020 Jesse Todd PSAC/Agriculture Local 40022
2023 Krystle Wallman SUN Local 258
2024 ? ?